Register for our events

2023 Event Calendar


Click on event title to register.

DATE WALK MILES LOCATION
Sun Jan 1 Hike in South Mt Reservation 7 mi Milburn NJ
Jan 1 - 15 FreeWalkers New Year's Challenge ?? Virtual
Sat Jan 14 Delaware Canal Training Loop 10-35mi Trenton NJ to New Hope PA
Sat Jan 21 Union County Olmsted Parks Walk 12.5mi Cranford to Union NJ
Sun Jan 29 Training Walk 14 mi Maplewood to Morristown NJ
Sat Feb 4 FreeWalkers Kennedy50 50mi Potomac MD to Harpers Ferry WV
Sat Feb 18 Princeton Loop Tour 10 mi Princeton NJ
Sat Mar 4 FreeWalking with Stiles 23 mi Trenton to Wash Crossing NJ
Sat Mar 18 Spring Ahead Walk (XNJ) 13-40 mi Trenton NJ to Princeton/New Brunswick
Sun Mar 26 Great Staten Island Loop 19 mi Jersey City NJ via Staten Island
Sat Apr 1 Allaire Village Shore Walk 18 mi Manasquan NJ to Allaire
Sat Apr 2 Crescent Trail Meander to the National Zoo 14-18 mi Bethesda MD
Sat Apr 8 Columbia Trail Hike 12 mi Califon to High Bridge NJ
Sat Apr 15 Great Canal Walk (XNJ) 28 mi Princeton to New Brunswick NJ
Sat Apr 22 Celebrate Trails Day 4-7 mi Cranford to Kenilworth NJ
Sun Apr 23 Roosevelt Island Loop 10-14mi Manhattan to Astoria Queens
Sat Apr 29 Sandy Hook Hike 16 mi Highlands NJ
Sun May 7 Jockey Hollow Morris County Ramble 8 mi Morristown NJ
Sat May 13 Kruimer Walk (XNJ) 13 mi New Brunswick to Metropark NJ
Sat May 20 The Big Walk 2022 (XNJ) 50 mi MetroPark NJ to Manhattan
Sun May 21 Greenway: Greenbelt to Alexandria 20 mi ollege Park MD to to Alexandria VA
Sat May 27 Philly Freedom Tour 11-15 mi Philadelphia
Sat Jun 3 Hudson River Loop Walk 30 mi Jersey City via GWB and Manhattan
Sat Jun 10 Philly Mural Tour 9 mi Love Park, Philadelphia
Sun Jun 11 Baltimore Inner Harbor FreeWalk 12-16 mi Baltimore MD
Sat Jun 17 Brooklyn: A Place Like No Other 12 mi Manhattan to Brooklyn
Sat Jul 1 Croton Aqueduct Hike 43 mi Croton-on-Hudson NY to Manhattan
Sat Jul 8 Montauk Lighthouse Walk 15 mi Montuak, Long Island
Sat Jul 15 Lawrenceville Hopewell Trail 12-32mi Trenton to Lawrenceville NJ
Sat Jul 29 Wissahickon Trolley Trek 20 mi Chestnut Hill PA to Philly
Sat Aug 5 Croton Dam Loop: The Hard Way 14 mi Ossining NY
Sat Aug 12 FreeWalkers Getaway:Bucks County 23-28 mi Trenton NJ to Warminster PA
Sun Aug 13 FreeWalkers Getaway:Pennypack Trail 16-23 mi Warminster to Holmesburg PA
Sat Aug 19 Greenbelt Walk: Staten Island (XNJ) 23-26 mi Elizabeth NJ to Manhattan
Sat Aug 26 Long Haul: Schuylkill Trail 40-62 mi Reading to Philadelphia PA
Sat Sep 9 Down the Shore: Wildwood 16 mi Wildwood to Sea Isle City NJ
Sun Sep 10 Down the Shore: Ocean City 13 mi Sea Isle City to Ocean City NJ
Sun Sep 10 Greenway: Alexandria to Mount Vernon 20 mi Alexandria to Mount Vernon VA
Sat Sep 16 South Jersey River Walk 18 mi Burlington to Palmyra NJ
Sat Sep 23 Endless Summer Walk 30 mi Matawan to Asbury Park NJ
Sat Sep 30 Bronx Coast to Coast Walk 18 mi Bronx NY
Sun Oct 8 Following Franklin's Footsteps 3-16 mi Bordentown to Burlington NJ, Philadelphia
Sat Oct 14 Bristol Stomp! 18 mi Bristol PA to Trenton NJ
Sat Oct 21 Jockey Hollow Morris County Ramble 8 mi Morristown NJ
Sun Oct 22 Bethesda Kensington Antique Row Loop 13 mi Bethesda to Kensington MD
Sat Oct 28 Bronx River Tibbetts Brook Walk 14.5 mi Bronx to White Plains NY
Sat Nov 4 FreeWalkers Marathon -- Philadelphia 13-26 mi Philly to Chestnut Hill PA
Sat Nov 11 Brandywine Walk 15 mi Wilmington to Brandywine DE
Sat Nov 18 WawaWalk 14 mi Swarthmore to Wawa PA
Fri Nov 24 Gobble Gobble Hike 7 mi South Mountain, Maplewood NJ
Sat Dec 2 Winter Hudson River Loop Walk 30 mi Jersey City via GWB and Manhattan
Sat Dec 9 Philly Christmas Walk 10 mi Love Park, Philadelphia
Sun Dec 10 Winter C&O Canal Walk 10-23 mi Potomac MD
Sat Dec 30 Battle of Trenton 4-12 mi Wash Crossing PA to Trenton NJ

 

Google Calendar

Import to Android |  Import to iPhone

 

 

Add our calendar to your Android/Google calendar

 

  • Click on '+GoogleCalendar' at the bottom of the calendar above.
  • Sign in to your Google account as needed.
  • Click 'Add' to confirm the new calendar.

 

Add our calendar to your iPhone/iPad

 



 
  • Nov 17, 2018 all day
  • Location: GW Bridge Bus Terminal New York, NY
  • Categories: General
  • Latest Activity: Nov 18, 2018

 

Register at Eventbrite:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/palisades-hike-tickets-51351070434

Be part of FreeWalkers attempt to hike 1,000 miles on National Take a Hike Day.

This hike will also be part of the Kennedy 50 Training Program.

We will meet at the GW Bridge Bus Terminal (Corner of 178th St & Fort Washington). We will leave at 8:30 am and cross the GW Bridge and hike up the "River Rd" along the Hudson River. The "River Rd"is a scenic 7 mile hilly course along the Hudson River.  Bring your own supplies as we will be in a park and no food available this time of year. There will be restrooms and water available at the turn around spot.

This will be an "out and back" hike. Returning to the bus terminal in late afternoon. Possible optional "extra credit" for those who want to walk downtown to Penn Station.

 

 

E-mail me when people leave their comments –

You need to be a member of FreeWalkers to add comments!

Join FreeWalkers

Comments

  • Hi Al,

     

    I'll be sending out directions latter in the week.

    The turn around point is the Palisades Police Station (restrooms and water) at 1 Alpine Aproach Rd Alpine, NJ

    It is closer to 9 miles one way when you add in the walk across the bridge.

     

    ed

  • Hi Ed-Could you tell me where you are hiking on the Palisades, where is the turn around spot after 7 miles?

     Thank You,

    Al DiCianni

     

     

     

     

This reply was deleted.